Wk 5 – Activity – Ethnography

Technology is all around us. Back then if it started to get dark you would have to wait till the next day when theres light. Nowadays we have artificial light keeping us going throughout the night. For this week’s activity, we had to spend one night without any electronics. I thought to myself that it shouldn’t be too hard to go one night without electricity. I actually found it to be really hard. I am part of the generation that was born into technology. Technology has integrated itself in my life that I cannot live without it. I love listening to music on my phone, I love watching movies and shows on my laptop, and more importantly I love the artificial light sources because I am afraid of the dark. With no electricity I had to use my bathroom in the dark and it was hard to find the correct products that I use on a daily basis. The great thing that came out of this experience is that, I had a full night sleep. I usually use my electronics until I fall asleep, however, since I couldn’t use it I went to sleep quickly and actually woke up early the next day.

Doing this activity made me think about the times I wasted on my electronics. I could use my time to go outside and experience nature without having to look on Instagram for nature pictures that others post.It was nice to get away from social media, because usually I feel burdened by social media. I am grateful for technology because without it I cannot do my homework at night, I cant go watch movies on Netflix, I don’t have to be afraid of the dark, and overall just makes my life easier. I believe that people should take the time to not go on their electronics and just experience the life without it, because honestly even though it was kinda difficult, I do feel more calm rather than obsessing on who is doing what right now.

Leave a Reply

